Calligraphy

ResizeImageHandler[1]

Featuring Business Women for the month of January.

I believe in encouraging others with their skills just as others has helped me. I will be featuring business women, to encourage others to push forward. A sort of paying it forward.

  1. Tell a little about yourself and your business?

I am Brenda Scruggs. I am an Author and I love writing. I began writing several years ago, but became discouraged when I initiated queries. But, stories kept developing in my thoughts and I put my fingers to the keys, pressing out interesting character’s, intense circumstances with a hint of romance. My character’s sometimes impress me with their outcome since they are steadfast and strong-willed. It’s interesting to see the story develop and how each one faces the outcome with faith not backing down.

  1. Why did you decide to launch the type business that you did?

In high school, I enrolled in journalism. I believe that peeked my interest in the written word. I laid it aside for several years, then one day I read an article of an author and her story interested me to the point of saying to myself. “I can do that. I can write a novel.”3.

3.    How did you launch your own business?

I did a lot of research on Marketing. At first, it seemed intimating. But, once you find your niche, all you have to do is follow through by sending out postcards, business letters, author interviews and so forth. Use the heck out of social media, create a website, blog, and email list. You’ll be glad you did, I’ve meet a lot of nice people.  I was called for a book signing just by sending out a letter introducing my book which produced sales.

  1. What would you do over or change?

The first thing that I would do over is NOT get discouraged. Disappointment wanted to be my friend and kept me in a place of not going forward. I should have believed in myself and my writing instead of being disheartened. So, I encourage you to trust in your brand and believe that dreams can come true.

  1. What encouragement would you give other women in starting their business adventure?

I would say:

  • Believe in yourself and your brand.
  • Step out and just do it.
  • Ask a lot of questions.
  • Research, research and more research. You can never learn to much.

Next week, I will be featuring another Business Woman. Stay tuned and glean from her journey.

Leave a Reply

